Members

africaCurrent Members:

Dr Marco Andreoli
Nuclear Liabilities Management| South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (Necsa), SA
Email : marco.andreoli@necsa.co.za
Research interests: Quaternary tectonics, palaeoclimates, and Pleistocene soil-forming processes

Dr Simon Armitage
Department of Geography, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
Email : simon.armitage@rhul.ac.uk

Dr D Margaret Avery
Immediate Past President, INQUA
Vice President, Royal Society of South Africa
Emeritus Associate, Cenozoic Studies
Iziko Museums of South Africa
Email: mavery@iziko.org.za , dmargaretavery@yahoo.co.uk
Research interests: palaeoenvironmental reconstruction, mammalian biodiversity

Dr Graham Avery
Curator in Natural History Collections Department (retired)
Archaeozoologist
Honorary Associate: Natural History Collections Department, Iziko
Honorary Research Associate, Archaeology Department, University of Cape Town
Iziko Museums of South Africa
Email: gavery@iziko.org.za

Dr Andrea Baker
Department of Earth Sciences, Stellenbosch University, SA
Email:  andrea_baker@sun.ac.za

Prof Marion Bamford
Director: Evolutionary Studies Institute
University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: Marion.Bamford@wits.ac.za

Prof Mark D Bateman
Geography Department, University of Sheffield, UK
Email: m.d.bateman@sheffield.ac.uk
Research interests: past aeolian systems particularly aeolianites and coastal dunes luminescence dating

Mr Oliver B Barker
Email: barkerol@mweb.co.za
Webpage: www.banzi.co.za
Research interests: geology, geotectonics

Dr C K “Bob” Brain
Email:  brainnew@iafrica.com

Dr Greg A Botha [L]
Council for Geoscience, SA
Email: iti04964@mweb.co.za
Research interests: geomorphology, hillslope deposits

Dr Sallie Burrough
School of Geography & the Environment, University of Oxford, UK
Email: sallie.burrough@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Carr
Department of Geography, University of Leicester, UK
Email: asc18@le.ac.uk

Prof John A Catt [L]
Rothamsted Experimental Station, UK

Dr Hayley Cawthra           
Council for Geoscience – Marine Geoscience Unit, SA
Email: hcawthra@geoscience.org.za
Research interests: Continental shelf geophysical & geological mapping, Quaternary sea level change, submerged palaeoenvironments

Dr Brian M. Chase
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier, Département Paléoenvironnements et Paléoclimats (PAL), France
Email: Brian.Chase@univ-montp2.fr
ERC Project HYRAX website: www.hyrax.univ-montp.fr
Research interests: hyrax middens, dunes, optically stimulated luminescence dating, stable isotopes, pollen, palaeoenvironmental reconstructions and syntheses, data-model comparisons

Mr Joseph Chikumbirike (S)
BPI Palaeontology, WITS, SA
Email: joechikum@gmail.com ; jmc@india.com

Prof John S. Compton
Department of Geological Sciences, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: john.compton@uct.ac.za

Dr H B S Cooke [H]
British Columbia V4A 4S5, Canada

Prof Carlos Cordova
Department of Geography, Oklahoma State University, USA
Email: carlos.cordova@okstate.edu

Mr Abraham N Dabengwa (S)
Biological Sciences Department, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: abrahamdabengwa@gmail.com

Dr Jeanette Deacon (H)
Email: hjdeacon@iafrica.com

Mr C.H. De Beer
Council for Geoscience, SA
Email: cdebeer@geoscience.org.za

Dr Mike M C J de Wit
Email: dewit@icon.co.za ; mdewit@tsodiloresources.com
Research interests: palaeo drainage; southern Africa; artifacts; fossils (incl. fossil wood); pedocretes

Prof Joakim J Donner [L]
Email: Joakim.Donner@saunalahti.fi

Ms Nadia du Plessis
Department of Environmental & Geographical Sciences, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: dup.nadia@gmail.com

Dr Lydie Dupont
MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences
University of Bremen, Germany
Email dupont@uni-bremen.de
Research interests: marine palynology and African vegetation history, Neogene climate

Alyssa Eltzholtz [S]
University of Cape Town, SA
Email: alyssakeltzholtz@gmail.com

Dr Irene Esteban
Evolutionary Studies Institute and School of Geosciences, WITS, SA
Email: irene.esteban.alama@gmail.com

Dr Yolanda Fernandez-Jalvo
Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales (CSIC), Dept. Paleobiologia, Madrid, Spain
Email: yfj@mncn.csic.es
Research interests: taphonomy, palaeoenvironments, human/animal behaviour

Dr Jemma Finch
School of Agricultural, Earth and Environmental Sciences (SAEES), University of KwaZulu-Natal, SA
Email: jemma.finch@gmail.com
Research interests: palynology, charcoal, African mountains, human impacts

Dr Jennifer M. Fitchett
School of Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies WITS, SA
Email: jennifer.m.fitchett@gmail.com

Dr Rob W Fitzpatrick [L]
CSIRO Land and Water, Australia
Email: rob.fitzpatrick@csiro.com

Mrs Patience Gandiwa (S)
Zimbabwe Parks & Wildlife Management Authority, Harare, Zimbabwe
Email: patience.gandiwa@gmail.com ; pgandiwa@zimparks.co.zw

Dr Graciela Gil Romera
IPE-CSIC, Zaragoza, Spain
Email: graciela.gil@ipe.csic.es ; gil.romera@gmail.com

Mr Marc L Goedhart
Email: mgoedhart@kainossa.co.za

Dr Stefan W Grab
Department of Geography, Archaeology & Environmental Studies
University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: grabs@geoarc.wits.ac.za
Research interests: Historical palaeoclimate reconstructions, palaeogeomorphology, process geomorphology, cryospheric change analysis

Ms Patricia Groenewald
Email: groenewaldpatricia60@gmail.com

Dr Vincent Hare
Stable Light Isotope Laboratory, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: vincent.hare@uct.ac.za

Prof Klaus Heine
Geographisches Institut Universität, Universitätsstrasse 31 Regensburg, Germany
Email: klaus.heine@geographie.uni-regensburg.de

Prof Trevor Hill
Discipline of Geography, University of KwaZulu-Natal, SA
Email: hillt@ukzn.ac.za

Dr Tammy Hodgskiss
Evolutionary Studies Institute, University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: tammyhodgie@gmail.com

Prof Peter J Holmes
Department of Geography, University of the Free State, SA
Email: holmespj@ufs.ac.za
Research interests: aeolian processes, coastal processes, Free State, semi-arid environments, pan and lunette sequences

Prof Karin Holmgren
Director, Navarino Environmental Observatory (NEO), Greece
Email: karin.holmgren@natgeo.su.se

Dr Alisoun House
Email: alisoun@worldonline.co.za

Dr Marc Humphries
School of Chemistry, University of Witwatersrand, SA
Email: marchump@gmail.com

Ms B Hurter (S)
Email: 22160396@nwu.ac.za

Dr Werner K Illenberger
Email: werner.k.i@gmail.com

Dr E O Jacobs
Email: ernst@arc.agric.za

Dr Leon Jacobson
Honorary Research Fellow, The School of Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies, University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: lj.heritage@gmail.com

Mr  H C Jenner-Clarke
Email: cyril@firestonediamonds.co.za

Dr Antonieta Jerardino
Departamento de Antropologia University of Chile Santiago, Chile
Email: amsjerardino@gmail.com

Dr Jasper Knight
School of Geography, Archaeology, University of Witwatersrand, SA
Email: jasper.knight@wits.ac.za

Dr Geeske Langejans
Leiden University, Faculty of Archaeology, The Netherlands
Email: geeske.langejans@gmail.com; g.langejans@arch.leidenuniv.nl

Prof Julia A Lee-Thorp
Professor of Archaeological Sciences, Research Laboratory for Archaeology and the History of Art, Oxford University, UK
Email: julia.lee-thorp@rlaha.ox.ac.uk
Research interests: stable light isotope ecology, palaeodiet, palaeoenvironments, human evolution, chemistry of fossils, archaeological sciences, speleothems

Dr Sandra J Lennox
Evolutionary Studies Institute, University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: Sandra.Lennox@wits.ac.za ; sandralennoxj@gmail.com

Ms Penny Letley
Email: pletley7@gmail.com

Mrs Liesl Breytenbach (The Librarian)
Council for Geoscience, SA
Email:   lieslb@geoscience.org.za

Mr Jared Lodder
Email: jared.lodder@gmail.com

Dr Emma Loftus
McDonald Institute for Archaeological Science, University of Cambridge, UK
Email: el485@cam.ac.uk

Mr Andrew Logue
Nuclear Energy Corporation South Africa (Necsa)
Pelindaba Industrial Complex, SA
Email: andrew.logue@necsa.co.za

Mr Johan C Loock [L]
Department of Geology, University of the Free State, SA
Email: loockJC.sci@mail.uovs.ac.za

Dr Julie Luyt
Chief Scientific Officer, Stable Light Isotope Laboratory, Archaeology Department, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: julie.luyt@uct.ac.za

Mr Michael Machutchon
Email: michael@geoscience.org.za

Dr James Macpherson 
Plant Conservatin Unit, Botany Department, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: macphersonjames1@gmail.com

Dr Alex Mackay
Australian National University
c/o Department of Archaeology, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: mackay.ac@gmail.com

Dr Timm Maggs
Department of Archaeology, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: tim.m.maggs@gmail.com

Mr Tebogo Vincent Makhubela
University of Johannesburg, Department of Geology, SA
Email: tvmakhubela@uj.ac.za

Prof Curtis Marean
Institute of Human Origins, School of Human Evolution and Social Change
Arizona State University, USA
Email: curtis.marean@asu.edu

Dr Thalassa Matthews
Email:   tmatthews@absamail.co.za

Prof Mike E Meadows
Department of Environmental and Geographical Science, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: michael.meadows@uct.ac.za

Prof W E Lawrie Minter
Email: lminter@absamail.co.za

Dr Helke Brigitte Mocke
Ministry of Mines and Energy, Geological Survey of Namibia, Namibia
Email: helke.mocke@mme.gov.na

Ms Ponani Mthembi (S)
Council for Geoscience, SA
Email: pmthembi@geoscience.org.za

Miss Lesley May Murungi (S)
School of Geosciences, University of the Witwatersrand, SA
Email: maymurung@gmail.com

Ms Navashni Naidoo (S)
African Centre for Coastal Palaeoscience, Nelson Mandela University, SA
Email: navashnin@yahoo.com

Prof David J. Nash
School of Environment and Technology, University of Brighton, UK
Email: d.j.nash@brighton.ac.uk

Dr Frank Netterberg [L]
Email: fnetterberg@freemail.absa.co.za

Dr Frank Neumann
ESI, WITS, SA
Email : fneumann1971@gmail.com

Dr A. K. Nguno
Geological Survey of Namibia, Namibia
Email : anguno@mme.gov.na

Dr C Nyamweru [L]
Department of Anthropology, St Lawrence University, USA

Ms Lucille Pereira (S)
ESI, WITS, SA
Email: Lucille.Pereira@students.wits.ac.za

Mr John Pether
Email: jpether@iafrica.com

Dr Robyn Pickering
Department of Geological Sciences, Human Evolution Research Institute
University of Cape Town, SA
Email: robyn.pickering@uct.ac.za

Dr Naomi Porat
Geological Survey of Israel, Israel
Email: naomi.porat@gsi.gov.il

Dr I Plug [L]
Email: inaplug@mweb.co.za

Dr D Price-Williams [L]
Email: david@templeworld.demon.co.uk

Dr Lauren Pretorius
A Discipline of Geography, School of Agriculture, Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Private Bag X 01 Scottsville 3201, SA
Email: laurenpretorius01@gmail.com

Dr Lynne J. Quick
African Centre for Coastal Palaeoscience | Botany Department, Nelson Mandela University, SA
Email: lynne.j.quick@gmail.com & lynne.quick@mandela.ac.za

Dr Jorge O Rabassa (L)
Email: jrabassa@infovia.com.ar

Ms Mulalo Rabumbulu
University of Johannesburg, SA
Email: mrabumbulu@uj.ac.za

Dr Amanda Rau
Geo-Surveys and Exploration(Pty)Ltd, Namibia
Email: Ajr@nutam.com.na
Research interests: palaeoceanography

Mr A Razafimanantsoa (S)
Department of Biological Sciences, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: tsilamiezaka3@gmail.com

Mrs Estelle Razanatsoa (S)
Department of Biological Sciences, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: estellebota@gmail.com

Prof Susan Ringrose
Gobabeb Research Station, Namibia and
Sunart Enterprises, Botswana
Email: sringrose66@gmail.com

Dr John Rogers (H)
Department of Geological Sciences, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: jrogers@geology.uct.ac.za

Prof Juergen Runge
Goethe-University, Department for Physical Geography
& Centre for interdisciplinary research on Africa (CIRA/ZIAF), Germany
Email: j.runge@em.uni-frankfurt.de

Prof Izak C Rust [L]
Email: icrust@iafrica.co.za

Prof Peter D Tyson [L/H]
Email: pdt@crg.bpb.wits.ac.za

Prof C. Garth Sampson
Email: cs48@txstate.edu

Dr M B Schneider
Email: martin.schneider@drfn.org.na / mbschnei@iway.na

Prof Louis Scott
Department of Plant Sciences Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, University of the Free State, SA
E-mail: scottl@ufs.ac.za
Research interests: Pollen morphology Stratigraphic palynology (pollen analysis) Pollen analyses of archaeological sites. Long continental records of environmental change during the Quaternary period Palaeoenvironments of arid areas

Prof Judith Sealy
Department of Archeology, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: Judith.Sealy@uct.ac.za

Dr Christine Sievers
WITS, SA
Email: Christine.sievers@gmail.com
Research interests: archaeobotanist, seed analysis, experimental carbonisation of seeds

Dr Margit Simon
NORCE Climate & Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research & SAPIENCE
(Centre for Early Sapiens Behaviour), Norway
Email: msim@norceresearch.no

Ms Mayshree Singh
University of KwaZulu-Natal, Faculty of Engineering, School of Civil Engineering, Surveying & Construction Property Development Programme, SA
Email: singhm5@ukzn.ac.za

Mrs R.G. Singh
Council of Geoscience, SA
Email: rgrowgeoscience.org.za

Ms Magdalena Sobol (S)
University of Toronto, Department of Earth Sciences, Canada
Email : magdalena.sobol@mail.utoronto.ca

Dr Renato (Spaggs) Spaggiari
Email : rspaggs@gmail.com

Dr Willo Stear
Email : willos@tiscali.co.za

Dr Mark Stephens
Department of Environmental Science, Faculty of Science , University of Botswana, Botswana
Email : mstephens524@gmail.com

Dr Abigail Stone
Department of Geography, University of Manchester, UK
Email: abigail.stone@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Kate Leigh Strachan
Email : kateleighstrachan@gmail.com

Dr Arnaud Temme
Chairgroup of Soil Inventarization and Land Evaluation, The Netherlands
Email : arnaud.temme@wur.nl
Research interests: geomorphology, landscape evolution modelling, landscape response

Prof J Francis Thackeray
Evolutionary Studies Institute (ESI), WITS, SA
Email: francis.thackeray@wits.ac.za
Research interests: Climatic change, palaeoanthropology, palaeontology, statistics, isotopes, chronology, taxonomy, extinction, speciation, evolution, anatomy

Prof David Thomas
School of Geography & Environment, Oxford Univ. Centre for the environment, UK
Email: david.thomas@ouce.ox.ac.uk
Research interests: 1) Quaternary environmental changes in drylands and the low latitudes, including the timing, nature and causes of major environmental changes in central southern Africa during the last glacial cycle; 2) Climate Change Impacts; 3) Society-environment interactions in arid and semi-arid regions: Land degradation and change; natural resource use and adaptation to climate change

Dr Andri Corné van Aardt
University Of The Free State, Department of Plant Sciences, SA
Email: VanAardtAC@ufs.ac.za

Mr P.W. van Deventer
Email: 10058591@nwu.ac.za

Prof Nikolaas J van der Merwe [L]
Department of Archaeology ,University of Cape Town, SA
Email: nikolaas.vandermerwe@uct.ac.za ; kalkbaai@mweb.co.za.
Research interests: archaeology, stable light isotopes, prehistoric diets

Prof A E Van Wyk
Department of Botany ,University of Pretoria, SA
Email: braam.vanwyk@up.ac.za

Ms Jessica von der Meden [S]
Geology Department, University of Cape Town, SA
Email: vdrjes001@myuct.ac.za

Dr T P Volman
Dept of Anthropology, Cornell University, USA
Email: tpv1@cornell.edu

Prof Lyn Wadley
Department of Archaeology, WITS, SA
Email: wadleyl@geoarc.wits.ac.za

Dr John D Ward [L]
Exploration Manager-Mauritania (Africa Exploration)
Geology Division, De Beers Consolidated Mines Ltd, SA
Email: john.ward@debeersgroup.com

Dr M S Zavada
Department of Biological Sciences, East Tennessee State University, USA
Email: zavadam@etsu.edu
Research interests: Palynology, paleoecology, archeological pollen analysis, climate change, stratigraphy